A Midsummer’s Night Update

It’s been quite a while since I’ve posted anything, so I figured it was high time I put up some new work and let you all know I’m still alive. So much has been happening that it’s really hard to find time to sit down and crank out a blog post. It’s also tough, because I have adapted to a “grown up” sleep schedule, which means I get up at 6am and go to bed by 10pm. A frighteningly strange concept for a 22-year old.

Things have been clipping by pretty quickly at my internship. I can’t believe I am over half-way done already. It really doesn’t seem possible. I guess time flies when you’re having fun, and I really truly do enjoy what I am doing at work. It make such a difference when you like your job. Instead of dreading work in the morning, I wake up and am actually excited to get to the office. I have been doing such a wide and diverse amount of shooting, I don’t even know where to begin with my project recap. I have shot rose gardens, microchips, parrots, an aquarium, food, wildlife, festivals, a rodeo; insects; sports–you name it, I have probably shot it within the last 2 months. The good news is that I can put a couple of my favorite images up in my blog and on my portfolio website. I obviously can’t post everything and some images I can’t post at all because they’re currently being used in books that are coming out soon. Anyway, here are a couple of my favorites.

Proof that I am a real adult at a real job

Proof that I am a real adult at a real job. This is a snapshot of my boss and I discussing some images I shot in our informal meeting room. (Trust me, not all of our meeting rooms are neon green with a random mishmash of objects strewn about, haha!)

One of the first big location shoots I did was at the Whetstone Park of Roses in Columbus.  This park is (as the name suggests,) chock-full-o-roses. One of the signs said they had something like 100,000 rose plants there. It was a little overwhelming. I arrived around 6:30am to get some great early-morning light images. Like I said, I am only able to post a couple, but trust me, I got some great results. Again, I should let it be known that technically all these images are © McGraw-Hill Companies.

© Holly Hildreth/McGraw-Hill Companies

© Holly Hildreth/McGraw-Hill Companies

Another fun shoot I had was at Inniswood Metro Gardens. There were so many pictures to be had, it is hard for me to narrow down the posting to just a couple of my favorites! It is definitely a place I will have to visit again for more shooting.

© Holly Hildreth/McGraw-Hill Companies

© Holly Hildreth/McGraw-Hill Companies

© Holly Hildreth/McGraw-Hill Companies

When I’m not on location or at the office, I usually try and find things around the house and local things in Columbus to take pictures of. It’s so nice having more lenses and flash units at my disposal again!
© Holly Hildreth/McGraw-Hill Companies

© Holly Hildreth/McGraw-Hill Companies

© Holly Hildreth/McGraw-Hill Companies

Perhaps one of my favorite photo shoots was my trip to Cleveland this past weekend. I had never been to Cleveland, so for me, this was like a paid vacation. I mostly traveled around to the top sites and shot. I visited the aquarium, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Cleveland Browns Stadium, a marina, Lake Erie, and a few other locations. I had a blast, and it’s things like this that make my job so sweet.

© Holly Hildreth/McGraw-Hill Companies

© Holly Hildreth/McGraw-Hill Companies

© Holly Hildreth/McGraw-Hill Companies

© Holly Hildreth/McGraw-Hill Companies

© Holly Hildreth/McGraw-Hill Companies

© Holly Hildreth/McGraw-Hill Companies

© Holly Hildreth/McGraw-Hill Companies

I wish I could share ALL of the images I have shot in the last two months with you, but unfortunately I can’t. I am very grateful that my boss is letting me post these images in order to beef up my portfolio and online presence. Hopefully I will be able to continue to post for you guys.

I am very excited as my parents and uncle are coming to visit me this weekend and celebrate the 4th of July with me. I will be shooting the fireworks for work, but then we are headed to Niagara Falls. I can’t tell you how excited I am for that, as I know there will be a ton of photographic opportunities to be had.

Anyway, sorry the update was so short, but it’s past my old-people bed time! I’ll try to do a better job of keeping on top of posts in the future!

© Holly Hildreth/McGraw-Hill Companies 2012

One thought on “A Midsummer’s Night Update

  1. These photos are …. AWESOME. I love how you vary your techniques to optimize your subject at hand. You’re definitely not a one-trick-pony, as in ‘just’ a dog photographer. You could make a living off of flower photography. They are out of this world good, as are all other photos here tonight. Mr. Turtle is darn cute and I have never seen such a wonderful photo of an insect like that. Tres cool.

    I’m very glad you were able to share some of these with us. Very well done!!!! Liz

Leave a Reply

