Guinness

This week in my advertising class we were given a mock-up layout from a “client”. The layout was a drawn design depicting a scene with a product that the client wanted photographed for a full-page magazine ad. Our job was to interpret the layout and make decisions based on aesthetics and the client’s needs. The layout pictured a bottle next to a bowl containing some sort of food. I interpreted the layout as a beer bottle with “bar food” next to it.
I had the studio reserved this morning to knock out my assignment, so I headed to the grocery store before my shooting. I picked up 2 six-packs of Guinness. The cashier gave me a strange look. Apparently not many people buy alcohol at 9am on a Thursday, haha!

The shoot went fairly well. It was a nice change of pace to photograph something that stays still! After photographing the required assignment, I played around a little bit and took some more visually dynamic and (let’s face it,) more interesting shots

The only downside of the day is that I think my camera is in its death throws. The shutter would freeze and wouldn’t open back up unless I physically removed the battery and then reinserted it. I REALLY hope everything will be ok, but my camera is getting pretty old! Cross your fingers!

© Holly Hildreth 2012

© Holly Hildreth 2012

© Holly Hildreth 2012

© Holly Hildreth 2012

© Holly Hildreth 2012

© Holly Hildreth 2012

© Holly Hildreth 2012

© Holly Hildreth 2012

© Holly Hildreth 2012

© Holly Hildreth 2012

© Holly Hildreth 2012

All Images © Holly Hildreth 2012 | hhildrethphoto.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

