It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas

Today in advanced studio, we were to shoot either food, beverage, or tobacco. I honestly had no idea what to photograph for this assignment, as my cooking skills are on par with most college kids and are basically limited to pre-packaged foods only. So, to get some inspiration for the project, I wandered around Walmart for about an hour last night waiting for a flash of genius to hit me. I wound up in the Christmas aisle, where I finally decided I would try to expand my set-building skills by making a Christmas scene while photographing food….and what (conveniently pre-packaged,) food says Christmas like candy canes?
Originally my idea was to have a Christmas tree branch with a stocking stuffed with candy canes. Well, when setting the scene up, I failed to take into account that the high quality 97 cent stocking I bought was not well-built and did not support anything heavier than its own weight. I attempted a few stocking shots, but wasn’t very successful.

 

© Holly Hildreth 2011

 

© Holly Hildreth 2011

My next attempt was to hang the candy canes on the trees.  This too proved to be next to impossible to pull off. I got a few all right shots, but nothing too earth-shattering.

© Holly Hildreth 2011

 

© Holly Hildreth 2011

I was starting to get discouraged by this point, as it seemed that nothing was working for me. Finally, I made a “peppermint martini” from water and red food coloring. I started liking the results I was getting with the “martini”. Toward the end of the shoot, I had a classmate sprinkle the fake snow while I shot, making it look like it was actually snowing.

 

© Holly Hildreth 2011

 

© Holly Hildreth 2011

 

© Holly Hildreth 2011

All Images and Content © Holly Hildreth 2011 | hhildrethphoto.wordpress.com

 

Leave a Reply

