The Sun Actually Rises Before Noon!

This week for nature & scenic class, our assignment was to shoot sunrises/sunsets and the stars. Lucky for me, my parents were one vacation at the Lake of the Ozarks, so I had a great place to go shoot.

Every year my mom’s side of the family has their annual “McBain Family Vacation”. My parents plus my aunts and uncles on my mother’s side (plus my one uncle on my dad’s side,) get together for a week of what I can only assume is mayhem. They usually try to pick a different spot every year, but this is the third year they have vacationed in the Ozarks. The couple they rent their vacation property from are very nice and always excited to have them. Normally they have their vacation in September, but my cousin had a baby this year, so the vacation got pushed back a little bit.

I met up with my parents on Saturday, spent the night doing a little shooting and playing card games with them. Unfortuantely, it was cloudy, so I didn’t get any sunset pictures, and my night time images didn’t really have any stars. My mom got me up for the sunrise, which shockingly happens before noon—a fact that most college kids are unaware of. I got a few images on the lake that I am happy with.

I drove back to Warrensburg on Sunday and did a little night shooting with another photo friend that evening when the stars were actually out.

You can see all of my photo adventures from the weekend on my flickr page: Here.

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

The stars over a cow pasture in Warrensburg

© Holly Hildreth 2011

All Content © Holly Hildreth 2011

Leave a Reply

