Decorah

On Wednesday, I traveled to Decorah, Iowa, with my sister and the news station for a story they were doing on the community and what it has to offer Eastern Iowans. My dad used to always take us girls to Decorah for fun when we were kids, but I hadn’t been there since I was in elementary school. We used to always visit Dunning’s Spring and the Iowa State Fish Hatchery. I followed my sister around while they were filming her segment and got some great photos while we were up there. Decorah, for those of you who aren’t familiar with the area, is about 2 hours northeast of my home town. It’s probably about 20 miles from the Minnesota border. It’s a quiet little town of Norwegian ancestry with a lot of character. Anyway, here are a few photos from the day. I took a ton of pictures, so if you’d like a more in-depth look, check out my flickr by clicking: HERE

Dunning's Spring © Holly Hildreth 2011

Dunning's Spring © Holly Hildreth 2011

Dunning's Spring © Holly Hildreth 2011

Panoramic of Dunning's Spring

Dunning's Spring © Holly Hildreth 2011

Dunning's Spring © Holly Hildreth 2011

Dunning's Spring © Holly Hildreth 2011

After shooting the falls, we headed to the Iowa Fish Hatchery. This is where they raise fish to be released into the wild. While Jen did her story, I wandered around the grounds. It was tough to get good photos of the fish, as they had to put covers over all the tanks since the eagles that live on the edge of the hatchery keep stealing all the fish.

Iowa Fish Hatchery © Holly Hildreth 2011

Iowa Fish Hatchery Holding Tanks

Iowa Fish Hatchery © Holly Hildreth 2011

Trout at the Fish Hatchery

Iowa Fish Hatchery © Holly Hildreth 2011

The Natural Spring that provides the water to the Fish Hatchery

Eagle's nest across the street from the Iowa Fish Hatchery © Holly Hildreth 2011

Eagle's nest across the street from the Iowa Fish Hatchery

Eagle's nest across the street from the Iowa Fish Hatchery © Holly Hildreth 2011

Mother and Baby Eagles

Like I said, there are MANY more photos from this shoot. This is just a small sampling of the day’s activities. Head over to my flickr for the rest.

Also, my family and I are leaving in the morning for a family vacation in Atlanta. I should be posting more photos from my adventures as the week rolls on.

One thought on “Decorah

  1. Pingback: Spring Break, Part II: NE Iowa | Holly Hildreth Photography

Leave a Reply

