April Update & Shoot with Max

I’d like to start by apologizing for going Awol for the last month. As you know, I had my mid-program assessment, which is THE most important event in a UCM photography student’s college career. I passed with all high marks, so that’s a load off my chest. After mid-program I took a job as a photographer at Picture Me Portrait Studios in Wal-Mart. It’s been…interesting, to say the least. I’ve been there every night after classes and all day every day on the weekends training. It’s pretty much taken up all my free time, as now my schedule has me going to class from 9-3:30, work 4-7, shooting for school projects and other homework from 7pm-1am-ish, sleep from until 7:30am. Hopefully things will cool off once the end of the semester comes. The job is, like I said, interesting. I find myself constantly asking, “Did that really just happen!?” At least, (if I HAVE to find a silver lining,) it’s one of those jobs where you come home with a great story at the end of every day.

I finally got some studio time in to work on my dog portraits again. One of my professors, Jerry Schmidt, approached me after my mid-program assessment and asked me if I would be willing to photograph his wife and dog together in the studio. I was excited to have a new subject and jumped on the opportunity. I have been used to working with smaller dogs, as almost every dog that I shot for my portfolio was 30lbs and under. Max was a huge Golden Retriever, so I had to try and revamp my approach on shooting, as he took up most of the seamless paper. Here are a couple images from the shoot. I posted my favorite shots. I usually like the images that have humor, show emotion, or tell a story. As always, all are on my flickr site, which can be found: Here

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

One thought on “April Update & Shoot with Max

  1. awww he looks like a gentle and loveable giant! My favorite is the full body one where you can see his tail. 🙂 Good job!

Leave a Reply

