Where’s Woodstock?

This Thursday I was very lucky to find someone to come fill my studio time. Laura Phillips, (the owner of the Saint Bernard and Chihuahua that I photographed earlier,) referred a friend to me. I had never met the dog or its owners, so I wasn’t really sure what I was in for. All I knew was Laura told me they’d be meeting me at 4 with a large beagle. When I headed in to my studio time 20 minutes early, I met Carrie and Snoopy. Snoopy was a VERY large beagle mix, who believed everyone was his friend. Snoopy was very sweet, but was a little difficult at times as there were other people shooting in the studio and he believed he needed to go make friends with them.

All things considered I got a few good shots. I went with a light, almost pastel yellow background and threw a grid spot over a flash to light it. Without the extra light it turned up a dirty grey-yellow. It was the only color of seamless paper left that I hadn’t tried. I wish the school had ordered red, green, purple, etc instead of 50 rolls of black and 50 rolls of white, ( but I guess most people prefer sleek, elegant high-key or low-key portraits instead of wild and crazy colors. I just think doing a black or white background doesn’t really fit when you have a dog with a humorous expression–I feel the color helps convey the comedy.)

As always, check out my flickr for all the proofs by clicking: HERE!

 

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

 

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

 

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

 

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

 

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

 

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

 

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

 

Thanks again to Laura Phillips and her friends, Drew and Carrie for all their help with this shoot!

Leave a Reply

