Frankie’s Debut

Ladies and Gentlemen, I present to you Frankie Champion.

Frankie is the miniature schnauzer puppy my friends Charlene and Chester Champion adopted back in December. I decided he would be my next photographing victim, because let’s be honest–who doesn’t love a good puppy or two?

Anyway, mid-program is breathing down my neck, so I needed to get into the studio and do a little shooting. I originally had this shoot scheduled for a week ago, but UCM cancelled 3 days of classes, so that put a damper on things. The studio schedule is ridiculous right now. Basically everyone in the program is scrambling around like chickens with their heads cut off trying to get studio time. Today was the only time in 2 weeks that was available, so I took the opportunity.

When I got to the studio I expected Frankie to be as good of a model as Stoli. I made the mistake of assuming a 5 month old puppy would have the same attention span as my 9-month old corgi. BIG MISTAKE. Frankie was highly distractible and really didn’t want to have anything to do with the studio. Luckily I had my boyfriend to help me for the first half until Charlene could get in and take over. I played around with a couple different backgrounds and ideas. I have always been partial to low-key photos with sleek, pure black backgrounds w/ little detail to distract you from the subject. However, today in one of my classes, my professor warned me against doing it on anything for the jurried panel of doom that I have to face in a few short weeks. In the end though, I was able to get a few possible shots that I could use for mid-program anyway.

As always, this is just a small sampling of the shoot. You can see more proofs by visiting my Flickr slideshow by clicking HERE, and I would highly recommend it.

 

© Holly Hildreth 2011

 

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

 

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

 

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

 

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

 

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

 

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

 

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

 

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

 

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

One thought on “Frankie’s Debut

Leave a Reply

