Snowmageddon

Warrensburg, Missouri, recently got pummeled by a mega-blizzard. Starting on Monday (1/31/11,) we started getting a steady amount of freezing drizzle mixed with periods of freezing rain. I had classes in the afternoon, and on my 4-block walk to campus and back, I ended up slipping and falling seven times. Everything was a solid sheet of ice. Monday night into Tuesday, we received the mother-load of all snowstorms (well, at least by Missouri standards. When we got storms like this back in Iowa is wasn’t really that big of a deal, but anything more than a dusting here causes widespread panic.) UCM ended up canceling evening classes starting at 5pm. All day Tuesday we dealt with heavy snow and 40mph winds, causing very low visibility, negative windchill, and drifts measuring from 5-1o feet in depth. I had gone over to my boyfriend’s house to use his computer for homework (I’m taking a required computer course and the college is sacrilegious and refuses to let us use Mac’s to complete the assignments, so I have to borrow Andrew’s PC to get my work done.) We ended up getting stuck at the house, so I spent all of Tuesday there as well since Andrew’s car has like 1/2 an inch of ground clearance and it was much too cold, windy, and the snow was too deep to walk home. Stoli was excited for the snow, until he got off the porch and promptly disappeared in the snow. It goes over his head, so in order to get around he has to jump from footprint to footprint in our tracks behind us. UCM cancelled all classes on Tuesday (2/1/11) and Wednesday (2/2/11). Tuesday night, one of Andrew’s friends with a pick-up stopped by and he was able to give me a ride home. I live roughly 6 blocks away from Andrew’s house, but it took us 15 minutes to get me home. We got stuck a few times, and the town was desolate–not a soul out and about. When I got home, I was greeted by the mother of all snow drifts. A massive drift encompassed my whole car. You couldn’t really even tell where I was parked. To top it off though, there was a drift up my front door that was waste deep. After digging the door out by using a snowboard I found in the driveway, I was finally able to get inside. I brought Stoli over for the day since Andrew and his roommates were all expected to report to the air force base for work today, and with my car being stuck and none of the sidewalks being shoveled, I knew I wouldn’t be able to walk over to his house every 3 hours to let the dog out.

I went out this morning to take some photos to document the snow-pocalypse. It’s tough to get around as the snow is knee high, and that’s not even in the drifts. While getting the mail I accidently walked into a drift and found myself waist deep with Stoli in tow. After I dug both of us out, I decided it was probably best to just stay inside for the rest of the day and pray that my landlord takes pity on us and decides to FINALLY plow the lot, (but I’m not holding my breath).

Anyway, here are a few snapshots of the end of the world snowstorm that has all of Missouri questioning God. Everyone seems to have lost their mind. Walmart is literally empty–no joke. Entire aisles are absolutely barren, so if you’re hungry for a turkey sandwich, you’re going to have to wait until next week when they get new stuff in.

So wherever you are, I hope you’re not trapped in an apartment with 22 inches of snow waiting for you outside your door.

 

Stoli and the small drift at the back door © Holly Hildreth 2011

Stoli and the small drift at the back door © Holly Hildreth 2011

Stoli compared to the snow on Tuesday Night. (We got more snow after this photo) © Holly Hildreth 2011

Stoli compared to the snow on Tuesday Night. (We got more snow after this photo) © Holly Hildreth 2011

Midnight view of the snow © Holly Hildreth 2011

Midnight view of the snow © Holly Hildreth 2011

Guess Where My Car is! If you guessed "buried under the snow drift of oblivion," Then you'd be right! © Holly Hildreth 2011

Guess Where My Car is! If you guessed "buried under the snow drift of oblivion," Then you'd be right! © Holly Hildreth 2011

Snow Vs. Apartment © Holly Hildreth 2011

Snow Vs. Apartment © Holly Hildreth 2011

My car is under that mound of sadness on the left. © Holly Hildreth 2011

My car is under that mound of sadness on the left. © Holly Hildreth 2011

Proof that there really is a car under there © Holly Hildreth 2011

Proof that there really is a car under there © Holly Hildreth 2011

Anyone up for some BBQ © Holly Hildreth 2011

Anyone up for some BBQ © Holly Hildreth 2011

Stoli's can't master the snowy stairs © Holly Hildreth 2011

Stoli's can't master the snowy stairs © Holly Hildreth 2011

Stoli playing in the snow on the porch © Holly Hildreth 2011

Stoli playing in the snow on the porch © Holly Hildreth 2011

UPDATE: as I was posting this, we got the word that there will be no school again tomorrow (Thursday 2/3/11.) That’s got to be a record.

One thought on “Snowmageddon

Leave a Reply

