Stoli’s Studio Shoot

Mid-Program is looming overhead like a big, black thundercloud. In order to try and prepare myself as best as I can before I get raked over the coals by my professors’ jury panel, I figured I would try to get a lot of diverse animal shooting in before the week of Mid-Program. I initially started my wildlife/animal portrait series by shooting exclusively at zoos, but after being inspired by amazing photographers like Tim Flach, William Wegman, Eliott Erwitt, and Nick Brandt, I decided that it was time to step into the studio and see what I could come up with. Since classes haven’t gotten hot and heavy yet, the studio was open and free for the taking. (I think I am the only one who rushes into the studio to work ahead when we have a winter storm warning dumping eight inches of snow on us!) Anyway, I tried to hash out a few different ideas that I had circulating in my head. The execution wasn’t all there, but some of the ideas were difficult technically and visually, (and it didn’t help that Stoli was more interested it playing fetch than he was in sitting still! Luckily my boyfriend, Andrew Curry, was a good sport and helped me wrangle the little guy).

Here are a few of the images from today’s shoot. As always, you can see all the proofs by visiting my flickr. Here’s the link to a slideshow of today’s collection: More Photos Here

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

© Holly Hildreth 2011

Leave a Reply

