Night Shooting

I’m currently back in my hometown in Iowa, for my Thanksgiving break. Over the break, we were assigned to do “night shooting” for my Materials and Processes class. I checked the forecast for the week and it sounds like rain for the first few days and then snow and highs in the low 20’s (a HUGE change for the 70’s back in Missouri!) So, I figured I better get out and try some shooting before I had to battle the weather for a good shot. I might do more experimenting with the concept later in the week, but I thought I would do a quick post for now. Also with these images I tried doing HDR processing. For those of you who may not be as photographically savvy, HDR (High DynamicRange,) photography is when you bracket exposures (start by taking a fast exposure and then change the shutter speed gradually). You can take anywhere from as few as 3 or 4 shots to 12-15 and then you combine them in a software program to make one image with the tonal rage of all the shots that you created at different speeds. I have never really done any HDR before and I’m not really sure what to think of it. I think if done tastefully, youcan get neat results, but I see a lot of fake, comic book-looking images out there that really turns me off from HDR imaging. I don’t have a good HDR program, so I downloaded a demo program, Photomatix light. This program did an OK job–I wasn’t too terribly impressed, and to top it all, the program pastes its logo all over your image when it combines the exposures, so you have to work on editing out all the watermarks. Anyway, here are a couple of the experimental shots. The reason I like this is that is you weren’t from around here you might think, maybe, just maybe, Waverly, Iowa isn’t horribly boring.

Leave a Reply

