November at the Zoo

This Saturday I decided to visit the Kansas City Zoo again. I’m trying to build up a collection of work for mid-program next semester. For mid-program, you have to pick a specific area that you want to go into and then make around 25 prints of your absolute best work, and then present it to a jury of the professors of the college. From there they interview you and determine whether you can pass and stay in the program. Usually I put things off until the last second, but I didn’t want to have to make a million trips up to Kansas City in the dead of winter, so I decided to work ahead.

Initially while shooting, I didn’t think I had very many good images at all. The zoo was crowded and there were masses of inconsiderate people (lots of children) who think it’s okay to push someone with an expensive camera out of the way or body check them while they’re walking. This is why I’m not a people person! After I got home and looked at the images, I realize I had a lot better ones than I have previous thought.

I didn’t get as many images of the animals that I usually like as normal. I have a tendency to hover around the big cats. Tigers are my favorite zoo animal, so I typically spend a large amount of time at their cage as well as the leopard, lions, serval, etc. This time the best shots I got were with the birds. Normally I usually pass up birds, because I don’t find them that interesting. I usually think a roaring lion makes a much more dynamic image than some parrot sitting on a branch. It must have been my lucky day, because I got some great shots of the birds at the zoo.

I took a different route through the zoo this time. I tried to do the Africa section first this time. Usually when I get to Africa, I have been at the zoo for 3-4 hours already and my feet are tired and I’m ready to be done. I thin this new touring tactic lead me to spend more time at the animals I don’t usually shoot that much.

All in all I’m ready to go to a new zoo. The Kansas City Zoo is nice, and I’m really grateful to be so close to a zoo, but having been to other zoos, like Omaha’s Henry Doorly Zoo, it seems really small. I would love to take a trip to Omaha or St. Louis and explore what they have to offer in the not-so-distant future.

Anyway, here are the images. Be sure to check out my flickr slideshow for all the proofs from the shoot. What’s on my blog is only a small sampling of what I have to offer.

Click Here for the Flickr Slideshow for the slideshow

Leave a Reply

