Creative Assignment #3

Originally I didn’t have any idea what I would do for this assignment. I knew I wanted to do something like my banjo project earlier this year where I covered my face with something, but again, I was not sure what. While Charlene and I were walking around Walmart looking for something metal for her studio lighting project, I ran across a turkey decoy in the hunting section and immediately got an idea. After a quick surgery, I turned the turkey into a mask and was ready to shoot. I wanted to portray a sense of awkwardness, because I always feel socially awkward. Some of my friends back home would use the phrase “Awkward turkey,” so i felt like this fit. Here are a few photos from the shoot.

Although the image doesn't specifically focus on the turkey, the song lyrics, "i feel Jesus in the clumsiness of young and awkward lovers," by the Hold Steady always comes to my mind here, so I feel it fits.

Leave a Reply

